There You Feel Free

Available in paperback and eBook

buy4._V192207739_

The story of five people, whom you might call hipsters.

Layout 1

The Kid struggles to put his life together after his relationship, and the economy, falls apart. Cheyenne tries to define herself against the members of her kickball team. Doug faces isolation amid his long list of online friends. Paul attends a support group for struggling geniuses. And Nick battles the sinister feeling that life isn’t going as planned.

They all cross paths inside and outside a poem—a loving rewrite of T.S. Eliot’s “The Waste Land” refinished with contemporary references to indie music and pop culture. Packed with laughter, levity, reflection, and revolution, There You Feel Free captures the intricate quandary of the Millennial Generation.

Published by: 1888center’s Black Hill Press


Reviews

“A fantastic idea, executed with grace and generosity. There you feel free presents itself as a hipster rewrite of T.S. Elliot’s The Waste Land, and it turns out that it’s uniquely suited to conveying the angst-ridden pointlessness of a generation’s affectation and fears… but the real genius comes in the end-notes to the poem, which contain four deep and rich stories of lives seeking meaning without believing in it. You’ll read it though the first time, then go back and reconnect all the parts, and it’s a new delight at every reading. A remarkable work, funny yet poignant, disillusioned yet positive.”

5 out of 5 stars

The Most Creative Book I Have Read

By Carl H. Slater on April 15, 2015
“There You Feel Free is the most creative book I have ever read. Many good writers are capable of writing a novel, many good poets may be capable of replicating in a contemporary context the greatest poem of the twentieth century, The Wasteland by T.S. Eliot, but only Nate Ragolia has assembled all of these elements into one thin volume. I feel lucky to have been introduced to it right as it was launched.
This is not a book to simply be read, it is a book to savor, to study, to comprehend, and that is what I have been doing…”

5 out of 5 stars

Remixing Eliot

By JenM on August 10, 2015
“In the tradition of Nabokov’s Pale Fire and David Foster Wallace’s meta-commentary-as-novel, Nate Ragolia brilliantly updates T.S. Eliot’s “The Waste Land” for a contemporary, post-ironic era marked by continual uncertainty, dissatisfaction, and borderline peril. Ragolia captures the urban, “hipster” landscape with compelling prose and dry humor; in the process, he pays tribute to the wit and complexity of Eliot while also forging a new path that could only be beaten through this creative and inspiring remix…”

Available in paperback and eBook

buy4._V192207739_